can a pea define existence?

I

Out of what is vast and incomprehensible comes a
mind out of rapport with its place as a piece – a mind
seeking to define the entirety of everything but its
own limitation.

If there were a song, or a poem that explained it
all accidentally – how much better than the chanced
mirror passed in a hallway by a masquerader who
sells you the “truth” of “the story” or its meaning?

II

Naked chubby babies grow and join into the latest
legion of fashion leashed lazies – their one precious
and distinguishable trait from animals – imagination,
largely ignored or used to build cages.

Take yourself for instance – touring rooms – touching
walls, and stumbling stairs – just to lay on a couch,
but never ask, “Should I define my surroundings, or
allow them to define me?”

4 responses to “can a pea define existence?

  1. elegant twist on an old story;
    i particularly found that the last line demanded of me an answer.

  2. A powerful last stanza. I also love the chanced mirror passed in a hallway by a masquerader who sells you the “truth” of “the story” or its meaning.” Beautiful poem.

  3. I found your blog by googling ‘a tisket, a tasket’.
    And I think I like it.
    A bunch.

  4. I found your blog while looking up the definition of a pea… my husband and I say, “beautiful!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

