Rejoice, for you are Man…

I

With whiteout smudged on a finger I go after darkness,
then apply courtesy color to an apple at its center – the
stem of Adam is proud and protuberant, drawn by love
and the skill of my hand.

My likeness walks onto a stage and dances – twirling –
– chanting – till my lungs fill with the air I have always
wanted to breath, and somehow I am then reminded
to be me, stroking a canvas.

Dominatingly agile, and maddenly male, I de-thorn misery
from my fathers throne, and then gather brothers to me;
choosing from amongst them a better model of intention,
strength and morality.

II

Touched by a pearl and covered in pre dawn silk – I spin
cataracts away from my eyes like saucers, and imagine
that I am still the wistful boy with the temerity to make
up the beginning of anything.

Joy and joy, and as tall as a mushroom rising to the thrill
smell of ardor…and I do say, as I have often said, that I
am her lover and her friend, as well as the boastful king
bathing in the spring of her valley.

So move or stay, contemplate if you must; but to achieve
any one wish, do not plan your every move, instead
blindfold aspects of your ambition, until the flames of ten
former agendas fade and desist like sparks in effigies.

III

Wear nothing! Reveal everything! Be unafraid, and pound
at the foundations of your beliefs with ape bones – staring
into the mirror of your solitary and emergent soul reciting
poetry to your lover…

Tell her what you have not admitted – of your 1 and 50
fears. How all the molecules in your body grow in the
presence of her loyalty – how without her admiration,
nothing but the stars would shine.

Now turn and turn, and sparkle, and be your manly self –
strike with a sword and aim your tumid arrows, and don’t
forget to sing – to raise your voice with hers and rejoice,
for you are Man…dancing in the co-creation…

9 responses to “Rejoice, for you are Man…

  1. A portrait of the artist…

  2. This is beautiful. Thank you for posting.

    I also enjoy studying your line breaks. You have taught me a lot.

  3. Bob – Portrait of the artist…?mmmm….perhaps of “a better man”

    Julie Buffaloe-Yoder – Hello, and thank you…

  4. wow, Wow, WOW! Breath taking poetry. I love your style of writing, it makes the deliverance a masterpiece.

    I really loved the lines, “My likeness walks onto a stage and dances” and “ill my lungs fill with the air I have always
    wanted to breath, and somehow I am then reminded
    to be me”, damn that’s so profound.

    I found you through MusEditions blog by the way.

    You’re a great writer…

  5. Oh, this was absolutely spectacular! There are so many phrases that really touched me….but it was the last stanza that really struck home. Regardless of gender, this is wisdom from Heaven:

    “Wear nothing! Reveal everything! Be unafraid, and pound
    at the foundations of your beliefs with ape bones – staring
    into the mirror of your solitary and emergent soul reciting
    poetry to your lover…”

    THANKS 🙂

  6. Baring the true self of man?
    I think 😉

  7. That is, without a doubt, the best poem I have read this month. Wonderful!

  8. [Tazzy 10] – Thank You…This poem was a labor of love…

    Grace – Ya know sometimes I think there is too much feminization of the male in this culture…The only way a man can be thought to be in touch with his feelings is if he is in touch with his feminine side…I thinks this is a tragic idea and an emasculating one as well.

    I do not allow myself to think that a strong woman is a masculine woman…Women can be strong as woman, and Men can be sensitive as men…

    I love all the complexity of women and I have celebrated that many times on this site…I just thought it was time to celebrate men as well.

    Thank You Grace, I always like your comments.

    Anthony North – I confess to not understanding your comment, but I thank you just the same…it’s been a while…

    Paul – Thank you…But didn’t you mean in the last year or two… 🙂

  9. Wow, great last stanza. Kim

Leave a Reply

