oh NOH, “Spellbound”

noh

You or I are who?

Who has not wanted to stay one
or another way forever? Who has
not made selfish wishes blowing
out birthday candles? Who has
not, and will never forgive in
themselves what is ordinary.

Who has not drained color from
a thing and made it black, white
or ugly? Who has not lied about
lying? Who has not accepted
that their efforts may never
lace a cup with milk or honey?

You or I are who?

Who has not acted superior? Who
has not denied divinity, money or
equanimity? Who has not worked
hard stitching the fabric of their
far reaching, but limited reality into
being?

Who has not fettered desire, and
controlled feelings and deceived
the present? Who has not hollered,
and danced, and then thrown the
contents of a bag of bones in order
to gauge the effect of yearning?

You or I are who?

Who has not made up “he said – she
said stories about everything and
been clever and cute, while confining,
shaping, and restricting the meaning
of everything to simple and easily
explainable theories?

…oh the gorillas, the stalwarts, and
the steeple disciples saluting…

12 responses to “oh NOH, “Spellbound”

  1. This piece feels Dylan-esque to me… with the repetition of the primary question rephrased to facilitate our foibles. Are we all not, in the end, observers of our own folly? “Oh, where have you been, my blue-eyed son? Oh, where have you been, my darling young one?”

  2. All I can say is, “WOW”.

  3. Nice piece of work, thoughtful and well metered. Doesn’t remind me of Dylan at all. Quite intrigued by the last line, is that yours or a quote?

  4. Bob – Thanks – “Are we all not, in the end, observers of our own folly?” – only those of us who are lucky enough to have one of those self reflection mirrors…

    gautami tripathy – and I am thanking you for that “WOW”

    Richard – Thank you for your compliment…the last line is mine, as is the rest…Be Well…

    amuirin – Thanks…

  5. Oh. Who has not? Not I. I have. Great work!

  6. “You or I are who?” Nicely answered.

  7. tumblewords – Thank You…

  8. thepoetryman – I am as always me which is the answer to the question “Who do you think you are?” Thanks for coming…

  9. I like it. Probably because I find myself asking questions in my work all the time. Hey I didn’t name my blog Who Knew? for no reason. It is that curiousity that makes life at once interesting and frustrating. Thank you for sharing that, Veronica

  10. veronicaromm – Thank You…and congrats on the woman of the month thingy…Be Well

Leave a Reply

