Iconoclast…or what to do with a hammer…

1me1

The muscle wanted to be on an admirable arm at the end of which was a hand holding the kind of candy that is sweeter then a child’s innocence – but instead pulled a trailer across a flat landscape before it and its compassion disappeared in the blink of an uncaring eye.

Was Jesus a carpenter with big plans to have his words quoted and then spouted from future pulpits by preachers standing like red sentinels in white southern churches or vesper whispered by black robes ashamed and ashen in Roman cathedrals?

This is just an aside, one between you and me, if diamonds are so hard, how is it I so easily smashed one last night with a hammer? It was simply done, and I am sure that this act will be added to a long list of my mistakes by someone working for an angel.

2still2

When taking sides its comforting to forget that you may be on the wrong one and you are likely to feel fairly smug or justified praying in the long run, because after all, you have the sanctified blood of Christ or one of his martyrs blood to swim or bathe in.

Alright alright – OK – I am sorry, I have digressed – this was suppose to be a poem not a dialectic about faith and belief choices, or on what battlefield to erect a great glorious cross on, or from what ideal you should hang your idea of redemption from.

So is it as too late for me to change the direction of this poem, as it might seem too late for you to ask yourself this question – “What If I (that would be you dear reader) have made a disastrous decision and am wrong about any aspect of my belief system?”

3too3

I am glad I got that off my chest. Now where was I – ah yes, I was writing a poem….

……………………….Mother made and touched and held and
……………………….remembered for all time, the today man
……………………….wakes up

……………………….hungry for the candy of love and feelings
……………………….of inclusion to continue, or for that trailer
……………………….to reappear

……………………….but this time to go somewhere exciting
……………………….or wend a different road or arrive at a
……………………….better home.

4crazy4

OK, so maybe I wasn’t writing a poem after all, but a dialectic or some such…

7 responses to “Iconoclast…or what to do with a hammer…

  1. Reading this disorients, wrongfoots, which is good, that’s not a criticism at all, I like being made to work to unwrap something……..(and thank you for your lovely comment btw 🙂 )

  2. You were writing a diameter! :>)

  3. I think this is brilliant. I love the questions turned back on themselves and the change of pace at the end, as Omniscience becomes embodied. Lots to think about, here…

  4. I was thinking on parallel but not convergent thoughts today. It’s hard, so hard once you’ve thrown yourself behind a cause, or a set of beliefs to hafta turn back from that path. So much gets invested. It’s why I somewhat pity a president I couldn’t bear at the beginning of his terms. I hated his voice, now I just find him pathetic, still waving his flag for ideas he got behind that everyone else a long time back abandoned as destructive foolishness.

  5. Jo – Be well and do well as you seem to do almost daily…

    thepoetryman – I have no idea what that is…I’ll add it to my list of someday look ups…

    Bob – I always like your comments – they mostly prove that you read and considered the piece…Thanks…

    amuirin – …as for Bush, pity is unnecessary, and would likely go completely unnoticed by him…as for his type of conviction – it would be interesting to note in anyone other then someone who had to lead a nation…thank you amuirin I always like a comment from you…

  6. poet4,
    Wha? A diameter! Dialogue and meter..? No need to look it up, it was merely a play on your won description of what it is you said you had done. Sheesh. :>)

  7. Drat! I meant “dialectic and meter”.

    Sheesh right back at me…

Leave a Reply

