The Poetman Award

poetman award

Side Note:
I was getting bored – not enough fanfare, no bugle boy blowing reverie, and I had just got an award as I was thinking about creating this award, so the timing wasn’t right to put out my award, and then I got an attack of the grumpys, so that pretty much nixed the idea of putting my award out – then someone died (literally) and that took the wind out of my sails, even though I am not a sailor and don’t have a bathtub, so I couldn’t really float the fleet with the flags waving and all…ya know do the award justice – so I didn’t do it for awhile…but now I have!

Is the Poetman award prestigious or funded by a major corporation?
No, The Poetman Award is the sole creation of Poetman and comes with no cash prize, incentive or vacation on the Rivera – It was created for writers who I admire or for bloggers who regularly take or have recently taken a big chance with their blog or creativity.

Can someone lobby Poetman to receive one?
No, but you can try – that will be fun – so hurry don’t wait too long, and send your well dressed representatives, padded with lavish expense accounts, to wine and dine me in expensive restaurants – only just remember that though this will feed me, it will not result in you getting the soon to be coveted Poetman award.

Can I buy one of these pretty awards to hang on my wall?
No, I may be a hobo poet, and I was known in my youth to cheat at cards from time to time but I will not besmirch the character of this award for any amount of money just so that you can impress your friends, neighbors, and countrymen with the masterful artistry of The Poetman Award – no no, no can do.

Can others nominate writers they know who are taking big chances.
Yes, that’s the short answer – I would love to know about these writers…send me their links…and I will see what I can do…

Note: For the premier of this award I want to award it to four people – 2 who have supported me from the start and 2 who have recently inspired me with their chance taking.

So without further ado, and after one of you beats a drum roll on a table – The winners are…

Gingatao: Paul Squires is all over the place but mostly lives in Australia – you can find him on SU, at The Orchid Room, – Gingatao, and several other seedy places. He takes ambitious liberty with the English language, records many of his poems, and wants to be the proprietor of a brick and mortar nightclub. If he likes your writing he will leave brilliant comments about your postings….so get him to like your writing by sending him some beer, a woman he can talk too, and a better piano bench…oh yeah, he plays piano – geesh now I am jealous…

Matters of Little Consequence: Dame Wiggins of Lee did one of the most incredible things I have ever seen a blooger do – she went into semi-retirement at the top of her game…I mean she seemingly had it all – traffic, loyal readers, and she was good, real good at writing – particularly rants, the good old fashion honest kind. And then after a few false quits, she finally did quit…her blog is still up though, and I think she will eventually come back, but making the decision to lay low and stop blogging was a very brave thing to do…she has a rich and sometimes outrageously funny sense of humor so visit her archive… and compliment her with lots of positive feedback and maybe that will raise her head out of the grief she’s been having…

Not Quite Right: Bob Church, no it is not because Bob likes my site so much or even that he recently gave me one of the highest compliments for my writing that I have ever received (he wrote that he would kill for my imagination) – it is for none of those reasons I award him The Poetman Award, I do so because he is mostly awesome, hard working and brave – taking on subjects in his writing/stories that can sometimes make him look silly and he does this like almost everyday. He is also a staff writer for The Word Catalyst Magazine, where he does, oh I don’t know – what ever staff writers do.

Poefrika: Rethabile Masilo gets the award not so much because he takes big chances although a recent posting of his called American Sentence might easily qualify his site – no I award Rethabile this award for exposing me and countless others to poetry by writers I have had little exposure reading. His side bar is a read all by itself.

Well Done: And now that I am done I can run along…To each recipient of this award – please display your award on your side bar (hopefully it has been sized correctly) and then listen cuz the applause is building and soon it will be a crescendo of acclimation…

12 responses to “The Poetman Award

  1. Well two of them are just about my favourite poets, and the other two I will have to get to know. Cool award, Mr P.

  2. yayayaya!!! More beer, more beautiful women, yayayay. Thankyou Mr Poetman. I’m flattered to be included in such esteemed company. But more than that, I am very happy to see you are over your very short and totally excusable case of the grumpies. We all suffer from them occassionally and yours was short and harmless, yayayaya more beer, Rage on, I say…

  3. ah, my friend. what a coincidence that i’d post today then come here to find this. although, in all honesty, i no longer believe in ‘coincidence’.

    thank you. you surround me in fond sentiment, the kind that warms the soul. as only a true poet could.

    i’m honored, flattered, and honestly touched. particularly now. danke, fine sir.

  4. Worthy winners—Congrats around.

  5. I quote the great Marv Thornberry, “I don’t know why they asked me to do this commercial…”

    And I’m not really sure why, either. But I’m happy… thanks, Poetman, I’ll try to live up to the hyperbole you used in justifying my choice as one of The Four.

  6. I must thank you, but how? This is the nicest award I ever got. Thank you very much…

  7. Hello Jo…I agree with who I think are your two favs…

    Gingatao – you are awesome – please play us a song…

    Dame – you deserve to be surrounded with fond sentiment…and you are welcome…

    Scot – thank you…

    Bob – oh you know why…stop being shy…

    Rethabile – just be you and do what you do…which should be easy…cuz I think for you it comes natural…

  8. yay Bob! yay gingaTao! yay

  9. Yay Amuirin! Yeah Poetman! Let’s have a party. Woohoo. I shall play a little Sly and The Family Stone..”We are family, yayay…

  10. I will certainly check out each of these award winners. What an honor! I love the look of the award. It makes me just want to steal it. Would that count as taking a big chance, you know, paradoxically? I was really losing my MoJo for blogging lately, but this injects new life into my writing spirits, something to strive for. Big Chances! My God, and I’ve been feeling like I need to squelch myself a bit more to please the blogging public. Just knowing this award exists, I’m going to turn my whole life around. You wait and see.

  11. Thank you for acknowledging that it’s brave to Stop Blogging.

    We salute you.

  12. gingatao – I have it on good authority that if TIV had won the prestigious Poetman Award, she would display it proudly on her side bar…

    TIV – I glad I could help with the mojo…not that I think you need any help…after all you are phenomenal…

    LOOK for other awards – I will make them up from time to time…

Leave a Reply

