when cut like a cameo will we bleed or be beautiful

man cameo

I

I have been gathering silence to me –
over to my side of the world…where
I am a king addressing a queen.

Maybe on a horse, or in a car, or
maybe you will drop from a plane on
a silk cord as a continuation of fervor.

II

I have been gathering silence to me –
in a cave carving of obstinate intention,
where I am a man of solemnity.

Maybe a saint will visit you, and give
you directions for where to find me, and
my silent and perfect fury.

III

I have been gathering silence to me –
pleating pleas into straitjackets; in a
white room where I’ve listened.

Maybe you can’t come, because your
conscious has given you an assignment
to try and cure another.

IIII

I guess you win – words are forming
troops and divisions breathing sobered
air and shaking off fear…

Maybe you will hear a commotion from
your window and wonder if your father
has returned with an answer…of sound.

woman cameo

14 responses to “when cut like a cameo will we bleed or be beautiful

  1. Well, if this poem is any indication of the answers to the question posed in your title, maybe we’ll do both. A little stigmata never hurt anyone… except Jesus, of course, that’s implicit, isn’t it?

  2. “””or
    maybe you will drop from a plane on
    a silk cord as a continuation of fervor”

    lovely.

  3. wow this is awesome. happy new year. kim

  4. Oh so clever this, a dynamic mix of pared down yet highly visual…….the language is clear, uncluttered but used in such a way that the images are instant and brilliant, stanza two could stand alone as perfection but then ‘pleating pleas into straitjackets’ is sublime. Very, very well done…..the best of yours I’ve read.

  5. Oh so clever this, a dynamic mix of pared down yet highly visual…….the language is clear, uncluttered but used in such a way that the images are instant and brilliant, stanza two could stand alone as perfection but then ‘pleating pleas into straitjackets’ is sublime. Very, very well done…..the best of yours I’ve read.

  6. And maybe the father has no answers to give, letting the commotion die out on it’s own will, like the saints of the past, silent but listening.

  7. Bob – we will both bleed and be beautiful…if by we you mean the royal we…as for the stigmata, may it grace the hand of life’s stone carver…I know that I have a chisel and a drummel for the finer detail…and I suspect that you do as well.

    Dame – somewhere there is a song playing, that will revive and reignite the passion of “what you want” and may that happen today…or in an hour or two.

    jo – thanks for the mirror…I have always liked what they can do…especially when they reflect a compliment…of narcissus by a pool…

    Eric – or a saint waiting for the right word to appear on a page floating from the edge of somewhere…maybe outside over there…thanks for coming.

  8. krkbaker – sorry about that – I almost missed you…and I thank you for the “awesome” and the “wow” too.

  9. poseidonsmuse

    Your words and passion would make any [lurking] Muse or Queen most envious…

    As a token of my appreciation for your poetic soul, I have left a gift for you at my site and would be honoured if you would receive it.

    Shine on Poetman…

  10. renaissanceguy

    Thanks for a profound experience. There are layers in your poems that take a long time to peel through. (Or is it the layers of my soul that your poems peel through?)

    Did you mean to write “concious” or “conscience”. It could work either way, but I was wondering if you didn’t mean the latter.

  11. poseidonsmuse

    I am honoured…Thank you.

  12. I rather hope that this found resolution

    though the price might be poetry.

  13. PM – Thank you and EVERYBODY LOOK AT MY SIDE BAR SOME THOUGHTFUL PERSON HAS GIVEN ME MY FIRST AWARD CUZ i AM LIKE A LOTUS EMERGING FROM A MUDDY PUDDLE…

    amuirin – the price of all things is poetry…or the asylum…I choose mmmm, lets see, eenie meenie minee moe…

  14. RG – I the dyslexic thank you…for everything…be well…Poetman

Leave a Reply

