(While You Try To Live) A Letter Arrives…

Photobucket

I

In a matter of moments, maybe in two or three, or later tomorrow, a letter will be written with words like a puzzle, and then sealed and sent to you. You won’t notice any of this until a blue postal man knocks at your door asking for a signature.

It was years ago – on a day like today that you received a letter much like this from a mystery that lived far away – through its door, down a hall, and then up some stairs – where smoke filled a room with curlicues of laughter.

A fragment of that memory and a small bit of its sound hiss from the envelope as you open and read what had wanted to be forgotten – a mink, the smell of perfume and your body trembling with pleasure…like a fountain.

Photobucket

II

Across the street – from a window seemingly covered by a curtain, a camera recorded this past for you, tracing the pantomime of your lips saying, I love you and I will be with you forever, and it does this until the windows steam over.

In the letter is a lock of your hair and the key back to your heart and a picture of you saying life is better than sorrow – and now it seems someone wants you to remember this echo, your shadow and the impression your lips made in clay.

Photobucket

III

Now, what to do with your hands – where to go with your heart – how to disappear or not appear affected by your disobedience, your choosing to live, instead of being lulled by this letter to be his chaste and loyal woman forever.

Image From: Agence eureka
10 responses to “(While You Try To Live) A Letter Arrives…

  1. There are so many perfect choices of word, of phrase, stylistic choices that give it the ephemeral shifting beauty of your best work. A kind of delicacy of tone, just beyond the conscious into an almost fairytale landscape, or mystical version of mundane reality. Perhaps it is in the tenses, I don’t know, but there is just a tiny distance between the words and the subject matter that gives your writing its unique voice. Beautiful, delicate, and alive with the subtlest of emotional textures. Wondrous writing.

  2. Again, I marvel at your virtuosity. Spanning time with the deftness of ether. Beautiful…

  3. Oh, you made it snow………clapping hands joyfully.

    How I love this piece! It is so perfectly structured, each part linked by filigree threads, A glimpse into the very hidden workings of the heart, of memory. Most clever, thank you!

  4. Very nice piece. The snow’s not bad, either.

    Happy holidays.

  5. this brought to mind a most favorite stanza from old man Lord T, sir..

    Let us alone. Time driveth onward fast,
    And in a little while our lips are dumb.
    Let us alone. What is it that will last?
    All things are taken from us, and become
    Portions and parcels of the dreadful past.

  6. Along with the words themselves, I admire the choice of artwork for this one, too. “life is better than sorrow” — such a delicate way to state a resounding truth.

  7. gingatao – Dude! you rock as a critic…seriously I think you have a gift for reviewing…Not just my pieces, but even the pieces of others…I have read your comments here and there on this and other sites and you have a knack…

    Bob – Thank You you for admiring my “virtuosity”…if that is what it can truly be called…it don’t come easy…

    JO – wordpress made it snow…by the way are you writing gingatao comments or is gingatao writing yours… 🙂 You are awesome and I thank You…

    Rethabile – Thank you for one of your rare appearances…the snow was for you…

    Dame – I thank you for even mentioning me in the same sentence as Lord T…thanks for the reference…

    Paul – …and it is isn’t it – life I mean…better than sorrow…although I would never entirely give away my sorrow…woe is me

  8. I don’t believe I’ve had the pleasure of coming to your blog before. A very interesting take on how the past can return at any moment, many times unwelcome but always with a sense of confusion.

  9. laughing…….I don’t usually write reviews, I have too little time so it’s great, awesome whatever, but just occasionally something sings a little song in my heart and does a Fred Astaire twirl and well I have to……..but that Aussie dude does sound like me, doesn’t he ((((ducking)))? (There now you squeezed another glowing review out of me!)

  10. Brian – Thanks for your visit…I hope to see you again…

    jo – glow on and on with your effusiveness, and the light of you humor…thank you

Leave a Reply

