The question had not been raised…

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

There was a man in a rowboat…
feeling safe…and a scribe was
writing his story down…the man
had not sense enough to worry,
because drowning had not been
raised as a question.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

There was a woman who was flying,
feeling safe…and an author was
writing her story down…the
woman had not sense enough to
worry, because falling had not been
raised as a question.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

There were children who were
playing, feeling safe…and a writer
was writing their story down. The
children had not sense enough to
worry, because brutality had not
been raised as a question.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

And then a certain kind of reality
sets in: The man drowns, the
woman falls and children are
caught in a crossfire of retaliation
and then the “reasonable”

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

wondered why they’d never raised
these questions or acted on the
conscientiousness of their
objections…?

7 responses to “The question had not been raised…

  1. Your thoughts are becoming more subtle and complex. More a metaphysical enquiry than a socio-political one. You are also developing a unique voice in your prose, assured yet relaxed, confident without being strident. I wish I was smart enough to venture an answer to your question, alas, it is not so.

  2. gingatao…dude – just for the record: I am not relaxed – I tore my hair out writing this…oh wait I don’t have any hair, or not much anyway…

    Thanks for the sincerity of your compliment….

  3. Who is to say they had objections? I look at news accounts every day and wonder the same thing, then assume that the issue of conscience was never raised. I can think of no other compelling reason why we’re still in Iraq, or why the American people would allow it to continue… we simply have no conscience.

  4. This is so excellent, the interplay of words and pictures, the repetitions, the rhythm the specificities of the artwork, again, and it’s contrasts. Chilling, really, and very powerful.

  5. Bob – well there you go Bob, you managed to be even bleaker then my poem…There is a mighty population in that “we” assumption…on a bad day I would probably agree, and on a good day I would say “most” but not all…

    By the way I am thrilled you came to my site…hope to see you again.

    TIV – Thank You…

  6. The idea of an entire population of sociopaths terrifies me, yet I’m afraid it’s what we’re headed toward. Not to sound grumpy, but…

  7. …now you get that idea out of your head…me I am going to Disneyland…maybe I will see you there…enjoying an hallucination of calm…Peace

Leave a Reply

