Daily Thoughts

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Was there ever a hand that extended to “Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breath free…?” And if there ever was such a hand, what is it holding now…?

10 responses to “Daily Thoughts

  1. Sad and beautiful. And you have the most amazing illustrations. Are they things you have and photograph yourself, or do you find them somewhere. The detail on this one is so amazing. A thousand words in itself, with you brief recontextualizing of it.

  2. Thank You TIV –

    I have just started inserting pics into my post…some are mine and most are found from all over the net…

    I am currently using mostly vintage images, which are no longer under copyright…I have also begun the process of seeking permission from other more contemporary artist…

    Thanks for adding my site to your bloggroll, I shall do the same for you…

    I like your site, I tried to leave a comment on it, but blogspot has recently changed their comment form which is making it impossible for non-blogspot bloggers to leave comments with links back to their blogs…I dunno maybe it will help if their users start to complain…

    Poetman

  3. Thanks for letting me know about that comments issue. Comments have always been a problem on blogger. They often get lost, too. This is ridiculous. I wonder if I got rid of the screening letters. I’ll try that. WordPress has always seemed less dysfunctional to me, but the idea of switching now just overwhelms me.

  4. renaissanceguy

    I know lots of immigrants who’ve had that hand extended to them. Don’t you?

  5. …it’s holding my butt.

    Sorry.

  6. RG- Do you mean because you have known lots of immigrants who have had a hand extended to them that the proclamation at the foot of the statue of liberty – its promise is being kept…? Is that what you mean?

    Seems to me that differing interest in this country have separated themselves from any sort of collective interest, as much as they have been separated by others with competing interest, along the lines of class, color, and religion…

    peggynature – you wouldn’t sit in an active ashtray would you…? Proably wouldn’t be a good idea to sit on the flame of American idealism either… 🙂

  7. renaissanceguy

    Yes, I think that by and large the promise has been kept and is being kept. Could we do better? Sure. We’ll never be perfect.

    Yes, I agree about differeing interests, but what to do about that problem? I really wonder. There you go, I’ve expressed uncertainly on here for the first time.

  8. RG – Its OK, it had to happen sooner or later…uncertainty I mean… 🙂

  9. A Starbuck’s Caffe Vanilla Frappucinno

    ….^ my personal choice for the physical embodiment of America’s guilt-laced, indulgence laden tendency to maintain the highest quality of life for those who can still afford to consume it, no matter the cost to the earth or her other inhabitants.

    (it also goes nicely with a bagel)

  10. amurin – I prefer one with cake which I as an elitist can still get cuz I know a woman named Antoinette…

Leave a Reply

