Daily Thoughts

What if:

  1. Your nation had been invaded?
  2. A hundred thousand soldiers were kicking down the doors of your neighbors?
  3. Thousands of jets had rained missiles on your hospitals and every single one of your social institutions?
  4. There was no trust worthy civil authority to make an appeal too?
  5. Your countrymen had formed themselves into various radical militia and now you didn’t have them to go too either?

What if:

You as an individual were that alone?

What if:

Just a few years earlier you had said “These sorts of things could never happen here”?

8 responses to “Daily Thoughts

  1. renaissanceguy

    What if. . .

    The reign of a murderous dictator were finally over?
    Soldiers from a foreign land were building community centers, schools and hospitals in your town?
    Those soldiers were also trying to protect and defend you from those radical militias?
    Those soldiers were training your military and police?
    UN sanctions were lifted, and food relief was coming in?
    You finally had an elected government after years of having to mark a ballot containing only one party?

  2. RG – “The reign of a murderous dictator were finally over?”

    PM – Dictator gone = more murderous behavior. (mmmm….)

    RG – “Soldiers from a foreign land were building community centers, schools and hospitals in your town?”

    PM – Could you be referring to the community centers, schools and hospitals these same soldiers burned to the ground? (mmmm….)

    RG – “Those soldiers were also trying to protect and defend you from those radical militias?”

    PM – Do you mean the ones that were not there (pre-war) because the dictator had means to prevent their existence within the dictators borders – or the ones being trained each day fighting American soldiers? (mmmmm…..)

    RG – “Those soldiers were training your military and police?”

    PM – Do you mean the ones who still cannot restore anything like civil order? (mmmm….)

    RG – “UN sanctions were lifted, and food relief was coming in?”

    PM – I do not know what you mean by this statement. What if food were the only problem? (mmmm….)

    RG – “You finally had an elected government after years of having to mark a ballot containing only one party?”

    PM – I fail to see how this has positively impacted that countries voters – who still fear for their lives, just to go out and procure their daily needs. (mmmm….)

    And if all of your what ifs are correct – how come only that country – why not other countries – those suffering even more heinous acts of brutality?

    Respectfully

    Poetman

  3. renaissanceguy

    Poetman,

    I probably won’t answer you point-by-point, unless you invite me to. I’m glad you actually wrote sentences and not just “mmmm. . .”. 🙂

    I just had to present another side. It’s not as simple as your list of what-if’s or mine or even a combination of both. The situation in Iraq is multifaceted, and neither the “right” nor the “left” tells the whole story. (Not that I know what it is entirely, either.)

    I don’t know if it matters, or if you care, but I disagreed with the invasion. I still don’t know if we should have done it, but we did. i can see some good reasons for it, and I know that some Iraqis believe that they are better off, just as some of them believe that they are worse off.

  4. Your first sentence is funny – I forgot about that – that I once answered you with mmmm’s

    mmmm…. that was kind of condescending – sorry RG

    As usual my daily thoughts are not intended to prove I am right – but to provoke some different thinking (for me and my readers).

    Notice I never mention Iraq…that is deliberate…because the above could be about any place where the mayhem of war has transpired.

    Thank You

    Poetman

  5. That is difficult for me to think about. I remember when I was working in an ER in fall of 2002 or so (I now work in a rehab hospital) we were assured that we would soon be required to receive the small-pox vaccine since we worked in a high-risk area. That still hasn’t happened, thank goodness, because the vaccine was actually not all that safe.

    I don’t even want to imagine what it would be like at the hospital if something happened. There is disaster protocol but… I can’t honestly say that any of us know it.

  6. Hi Poetman,
    As ex-military, and with a son in the military, just one point. Soldiers rarely decide to go anywhere. It’s politicians who do that.
    It’s a damned awkward place to hate a war, but wish your kin and comrades well.

  7. If all that had happened to me I would be thinking, “Bugger, I wish hadn’t been born near all this oil.”

  8. Alicia – Thanks. By the way I see you are re-invigorated with feedback at your blog – nice…

    Anthony – I know that most soldiers don’t decide.

    gingtao – How about – Sudan, Somalia, Grenada, Bosnia, Korea, Burma and on and on…

    Thanks all of you for stopping by…for reading…and for commenting.

Leave a Reply

