Daily Thoughts

It is hard to believe that almost every great Human tragedy can be traced to humans acting against humans…In the name of something those perpetrators would call high moral ideals…

8 responses to “Daily Thoughts

  1. renaissanceguy

    The word “call” may be more important than you know.

    I’m not so sure that Hitler, Stalin, Mao, Pol Pot, Idi Amin, or a host of other men like them really believed that they had high moral ideals. By the time they committed the bulk of their atrocities they were drunk with power and wanted more. They might have “called” their motives moral, but I don’t see how they could have believed it themselves.

  2. The tragedy RG is that that is exactly what they would have called it…

    Poetman

  3. We all like to think of ourselves as moral, but the problem is not a particular type of morality, but the degree to which you follow, or enforce it. The antidote to moral excess, or acting in a supposed moral way is one word.
    Moderation.

  4. Thank You Anthony

    moderation in small doses creates big changes…

    Thanks for stopping by…

    Poetman

  5. renaissanceguy

    I agree on moderation, but it should be practiced moderately.

    Those who have read my blog may not think I’m very moderate, but I do consider it an important ideal. But we have to be careful about making it the supreme ideal.

    We shouldn’t be moderate about child abuse or slavery or a lot of other things.

  6. Hello RG,

    I don’t know what you mean by “or a lot of other things…” but about child abuse and slavery I agree…there is no place for moderateness when fighting these conditions…

    By the way I do not consider you immoderate…just different than me.

    Poetman

  7. Yes, agreed, RG, such things must be stamped out, and similarly a murderer must be hunted, etc. I’m not sure that ‘moderation’ in counter-measures was what I was getting at, but I get the point.

  8. renaissanceguy

    Poetman, true, “a lot of other things” is vague, and there probably aren’t that many, after all.

    Anthony, I wasn’t trying to be argumentative. It’s just that I have heard people tout moderation as an all-encompassing principle without thinking about the ramifications of being moderate on everything. I would never assume that you or Poetman would do so.

Leave a Reply

