Loud Sounds

In a room with a crucifix and a melting wax Mary – a woman sits
speaking with tongue symbols, unrecognizable as language to a
doll who had been a childhood companion.

Even while young the doll had never understood the child who
would become this lady. It only pretended to be okay because
someone long ago painted its face with a plastic frozen smile.

In a room with a crucifix and a melting wax Mary – a woman sits
staring through walls, past their wood and stucco framing, to the
surface of some water being sliced by a small boat –

At an older boy leading her as a young girl to an island, where he
forced something hard into her hand – where wind made such a
sound as to scare her for what seemed like a time unending.

In a room with a crucifix and a melting wax Mary – a woman sits
forgetting she had been forgotten by the one man who should
never have forgotten –

That she as a girl had been given a doll with a frozen smile as a
companion. That mans absence mixed with the wind, made the girl
holding the hard older boy a woman afraid of loud sounds forever.

4 responses to “Loud Sounds

  1. Brilliant. This poem hits me too deeply for words.

  2. Thank You RG

    Poetman

  3. I am a woman who is startled by loud sounds.
    Your poem made me think….Why?
    Why am I so startled and taken so unawares by loud sounds?
    What lets me know to feel so startled when I hear loud sounds?
    I am strong, I am weak.
    I want to remember…
    I want to forget……..

  4. Dear Angela

    You are my precious one. My angel. I wrote this poem for you…
    Thank You…and more…

    Poetman

Leave a Reply

