Daily Thoughts

Isn’t it incredible that there are so many people in the world who do not share your point of view – I wonder if it is you or they who are wrong… OK, hold your stomach for the world does spin – perhaps it is not a matter of who is right or wrong, but more a matter of geography, time, and temperament…

8 responses to “Daily Thoughts

  1. Yes it does seem the world is bigger than our thoughts would lead us to believe.

  2. yes.
    ideologies.

    They have differed since humankind started to think. But I’m glad they did, because I am a big time rebel. I cannot accept anything given to me unless I analyse it for myself and find it acceptable. The stereotypical and the dogmatic beliefs of society are not given pastries by me… 😉

  3. Thats all good…but can you rebel against your self…can you challenge your own assumptions?
    Poetman

  4. renaissanceguy

    As long as you don’t say that nothing is inherently right or wrong, then I can go along with you.

    Almost all cultures have held that murder (with slight variations in definition) is wrong. Almost all cultures have held that loyalty to one’s freinds and family is good.

    Would we say that given their geography, time, and temperament, the Nazi’s were right? Or that that the American practice of slavery was right, given its cultural milieu?

  5. renaissanceguy

    I am not sure what you mean by “As long as you don’t say that nothing is inherently right or wrong, then I can go along with you”

    Murder/Self defense? Murder/Involuntary manslaughter? Murder/Casualties of war?
    With these 3 examples someone still dies, and it does depend on geography, time, and temperament…to ascribe a rightness or a wrongness to them.

    As for the actions of the Nazis – well in the late 30’s and early 40’s Germany’s streets were full of Germans waving little Nazi flags, while today the overwhelming majority of Germans bow their heads in a collective shame in relation to WWII

    As for Poetman – I have very definite ideas about what is right and what is wrong and each of my ideas about “right ” and “wrong” is predicated on an intricate web of beliefs and experiences…Just like yours…Just like everyones…

  6. renaissanceguy

    I’m not talking about “ideas about what is right and what is wrong” but about what REALLY is right and wrong.

    We all seem to believe in the existence of right and wrong when somebody steals our sandwich from the refrigerator. We don’t say, “Given my own intricate web of beliefs and experiences, you shouldn’t take my lunch!” We say, “Hey, you big jerk. Give me back my lunch. It’s wrong to steal.”

  7. In a family of thieves the guilty one is the one who refuses to steal…

  8. renaissanceguy

    It’s your blog, so I’ll let you have the last substantive word here. I have more to say to you but don’t want to drag this out.

    Your blog is a breath of fresh air. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

