Hop – Skip – Jump – But not alone…

changed

1hop1

Come out and play an accordion with me
and do the hope polka wild enough to
scare the minna’s and smoke long and
elegant cigars wearing tapered and fitted
suits dramatically.

Get tired and tireder and jump out of a
corporate window and land on or become
a wino – and then spend an active night
pointing or shining a spotlight at the
curvature of youth.

2skip2

Lear and lear and lear – stare, stare, stare,
don’t give or take shit, and take off that
monkey suit cuz we ain’t going to Clarksville,
tonight we’re going to see, or be seen like
we’re alarming.

Pretend we are reggaes slow and easy lilt
hallucinating slow dancing and touching -
milk in the morning poured over breakfast
and a long and lingering romance that’s both
exciting and fulfilling.

3jump3

Say or spell jump again – take a taxi to a
riverside and swim swim swim, fail and
drown and wake again remembering you
play piano in a jazz combo and your ship
is just coming in.

The dreamery landscape and the owl who
follows you home, and the books read by
candle light, and the research and letters
to “the only one” all state the same thing -
hop skip and jump – but not alone…

7 responses to “Hop – Skip – Jump – But not alone…

  1. whoaw…

    just whoaw…

    There’s enough good stuff in here to launch a cross-generational symposium of dilettantes such as myself. I absolutely marvel at your ability to move while blurring all the lines just enough to allow them to meld. Just great… thanks for this, it made my day.

  2. Excellent……you on great form. Especially loved this:

    Pretend we are reggaes slow and easy lilt
    hallucinating slow dancing and touching -
    milk in the morning poured over breakfast
    and a long and lingering romance that’s both
    exciting and fulfilling.

    and the last stanza.

    J

  3. I love the pace of this, I agree with Bob about blurring the lines.
    I liked hope polka wild.
    good stuff.
    kim

  4. I wish I could play the accordion.

  5. Magnificent.

  6. I was hooked from the phrase “hope polka wild”. Very imaginative and I didn’t get bored once!

    Paulie11 from inside the Snakepit

  7. Bob- and I thank you – this is not easy…but that it made your day has now made mine…

    Jo – Thank you and you are doing nicely yourself…at least in the poetry department and I hope all is well in the rest of your life…I do stop by, although I do not comment enough…

    krkbaker – thank you…

    mad – don’t be so sure about that – it’s a big decision the accordian…

    PM – thanks for commenting-how’s retirement treating you? I hope you are well..

    paulie11 – really, not even once? I’ll have to work on that…Thanks :)

Leave a Reply

